Blackfox Awards

Information from Society Level

The William Blackfox Web Awards

Information copied from: [link currently disabled on new site, previously located at]

Master William Blackfox was the author and illustrator of the cartoon Warthaven. He gave generously of his time and talents, and was very supportive of the Kingdom Chroniclers until his untimely death.

To honor his memory, the Office of the Society Chronicler sponsors the annual Master William Blackfox Awards to recognize excellence in the work of Chroniclers and newsletter contributors.

In 2007, the award was extended to recognize SCA Websites.

Many thanks to the skill and talent of THL Gala Cunningham, a former Ansteorran Chronicler, for the Blackfox Award logo.

How are people nominated for the William Blackfox Web Awards?

The Kingdom Webminsters make the initial nominations from the works in their Kingdom. (Obviously, their own work is not eligible; neither are Corporate Websites.) All kingdoms are encouraged to participate and send in at least two nominations for each of the seven categories. (Note to all Webministers – be sure to keep your Kingdom Webminister updated on your activities and provide them with any pertinent URL. Not only is it polite for you to do so, but it is the only way you can be nominated to participate in this competition.)

Once the nominations are received, letters are sent to the nominees congratulating them on their fine work and their nomination to the competition. It is important that all participants realize that the nomination of their work is an indication of excellence. The entries are then separated into the seven categories and the judging is done by a panel of disinterested individuals, chaired by the Society Webminister.

The winners of the William Blackfox Web Awards will be announced each fall, and will appear in the Kingdom newsletters, Tournaments Illuminated and on this website. If you have any questions or suggestions, please send them to the Society Webminister.

What efforts are recognized?

Best Overall Website – not necessarily the best-looking website, but rather the website which best meets the needs of the local group or SCA Event for which it is published. It should accurately reflect the status of the group/event and be a valuable tool for growth and promotion of the SCA goals and ideals. This title is awarded to the website and the Webminister.

Best Appearance – for the best looking website in balance and style. Awarded to the website and the Webminister.

Best Organization – for the most easily navigated website in balance and style. Awarded to the website and the Webminister.

Best Use of Technology – for the site that utilizes advanced technology to provide value added services to its populace. Awarded to the website and the Webminister.

Best Artwork – for custom artwork on the main page of the website. Awarded to the website and the artist.

Best Special Interest Website – this category recognizes guild websites, research websites, and Arts & Science focus websites (such as lace-making). Awarded to the website and the Webminister.

Best Regular Feature – for those cartoons, articles, columns, etc. which are updated regularly on the particular website. Awarded to the creator or feature writer and the website.

Best Content – recognizes excellence in content appearing on a local website. Awarded to the Webminister and the website.

Honorable Mentions – for work which does not fall into the above categories, yet are still deserving of recognition for their exceptional work and/or dedication to producing the best possible website for the local group served.